Gelatin dessert, also known as jelly in some countries, is a popular treat people of all ages enjoy. It is a colorful, wiggly dessert that can be served plain or with fruit toppings.
But have you ever wondered what goes into a regular sugar-free gelatin dessert? If you’re a vegan, can you eat jelly on a plate? We’re dishing the details today on his popular birthday party dessert and serving up a sweet alternative jel treat from Simply Desserts. View our recipes here.
Table of Contents

What Is a Regular Sugar-Free Gelatin Dessert Made Of?
A regular sugar-free gelatin dessert is primarily made of gelatin, a protein derived from collagen found in animal bones, connective tissues, and skin. The gelatin is extracted by boiling these animal parts in water and then evaporating the liquid until it forms a solid, transparent substance.
The gelatin is mixed with water, sweeteners, flavorings, and colorings and then refrigerated until it sets. Regular gelatin desserts that are not sugar-free are usually high in sugar, so check the label.
Is Simply Desserts Jel Vegan-Friendly?
If you are looking for a plant-based alternative to gelatin desserts, Simply Desserts plant-based jels are a great option.
These jels are made from a combination of carrageenan and konjac flour, both of which come from plant sources. They are also sugar-free, gluten-free, and preservative-free, making them a much better choice for those looking to reduce their sugar intake and avoid unnecessary additives.
Plant-based jels are also made without any animal products.
So next time you crave a sweet and wobbly dessert, consider trying Simply Desserts plant-based jels for a delicious and guilt-free treat. Here’s why.
What ingredients go into Simply Desserts Jel’s?
Simply Desserts desserts are created using only natural, plant-based ingredients that are ethically sourced from places worldwide.
Each ingredient is carefully chosen to ensure that our desserts stay sweet without the added sugar! For example, our sugar-free jel contains a blend of GMO-free Erythritol and Stevia. Also, our range is free of any high fructose corn syrups and artificial flavorings and sweeteners.
For any additional information on the ingredients used in our Sugar-Free Jel range, read What are the 8 ingredients in Simply Desserts. Sugar-free gelatin dessert mixes have been on the market for decades. They contain animal-derived gelatin, while Simply Desserts Sugar-Free Jel is plant-based.
If you’re picking up a box of a typical sugar-free gelatin dessert at your local grocery, the ingredients on the package will often read something like:
- “GELATIN, ADIPIC ACID (FOR TARTNESS), DISODIUM PHOSPHATE (CONTROLS ACIDITY), MALTODEXTRIN (FROM CORN), FUMARIC ACID (FOR TARTNESS), ASPARTAME** (SWEETENER), CONTAINS LESS THAN 2% OF ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR, ACESULFAME POTASSIUM (SWEETENER), SALT, R.E.D. 40. **PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE.”
In comparison, the two sugar-free desserts are similar in some aspects but differ in what’s in the box!
Is Simply Desserts Jel Ketogenic Certified?
Over the past couple of years, Simply Desserts Desserts are becoming recognized as a certified brand they can trust and love.
Just recently, Simply Desserts has been recognized as a Ketogenic Certified dessert by the Paleo Company. Aside from being Ketogenic Certified, our Sugar-Free Jels and Puddings are Kosher certified by OK Kosher and Halal certified by the American Halal Foundation (AHF).
Since we love animals and believe in creating cruelty-free products, we are a
proud partner of P.E.T.A.’s Business Friends.
For additional information visit the following links:
- Check out our Blog Post: Our Butterfly Effect – NON-GMO Project.
- Simply Desserts is Ketogenic Certified
- FAQ
What About Certifications?
Simply Desserts Jels carry third-party certifications we stand proudly by.
A plain K on a package of gelatin dessert is not the same as certification by a kosher agency, and kosher authorities differ on whether animal gelatin is acceptable. Simply Desserts Jels contain no gelatin and are certified kosher by OK Kosher.
What other names does Jel go by around the world?
Did you know this dessert is enjoyed worldwide? However, different regions of the world call the dessert by different names. Nevertheless, although they go by different names, the dessert is considered the same!
The common word for this jiggly dessert in the United States is gelatin dessert or jel. Meanwhile, the common term in the U.K. and South Africa is jelly. Don’t get too confused! In America, Jelly is considered a berry or fruit spread you add to your morning toast. It’s so interesting that there are so many different names for this one dessert!
What do your family call this delicious dessert?
Final Thoughts: Why Choose Simply Desserts Jel?
Simply Desserts plant-based jels cater to vegans and to anyone avoiding animal gelatin.
Regular gelatin comes from animal farming. Simply Desserts jels are plant-based and made without animal products.
With 6 delicious flavors and an unflavored version to choose from, which Jel Dessert will you choose today?
